The church of San Agustín was built on the ruins of the original temple, which was destroyed by the earthquake of 1736. Here visitors can admire the images of Our Lady of Sorrows and the Lord of Forgiveness, a silver-plated sculpture kneeling on a globe. The church is also famous for being the custodian of a sculpture of a two-headed eagle adorned with emeralds, manufactured in 1673.